Stay Hungry

You HAVE to stay hungry to achieve anything. Put yourself in a place of lack. A place that challenges you to make for yourself what you won’t take from others anymore. Now don’t go and throw away your belongings and burn your home…. but throw away your emotional belongings and burn down your emotional home. Carry an emotional tent instead, It is more resilient. You pack your emotional home with things that allow you to stay who you are and be comfortable. Somewhere along the line we have mistaken comfort for happiness. Just because you have a tv to entertain you doesnt mean you are at ease. Just because you have a friend circle doesnt mean you are content. It is very easy to accept everyone you meet and allow them to take up your time and energy just because it feels nice to have them around. Sometimes you will notice their problems paining you like a broken spring in your ez boy poking you in the ass… but hell, Sitting in the chair is still easier than going out and paying for another one. When you take all the things you relied on in order to feel comfortable, you can either feel sad at the fact that you are now uncomfortable.. or you can make yourself change so that the surroundings become comfortable. (law of attraction?) When you become comfortable instead of having comfortableness put onto you, you have a real fortune. The man who has overcome himself is greater than the man who has overcome 1000 times 1000 men – Buddha

Consumerism is the leading form of comfort making and therefore the leading form of contentment deprivation. I have no way to play music. I have no Pictures. I have no Internet. I have limited books. I know few people. The result? I am forced to feel sorrow (ahahha HELL NO!) or play my own music, draw my own art, make my own entertainment, write my own books, and make new friends. I have noticed that I feel very good about all of these things despite a lack of them because I am cultivating the inner change that makes me able to appreciate them; you can’t appreciate that which you have to cling to for fear of losing it. I have been far more confident and at ease with myself as well. Talking to strangers (occasionally) Servers(frequently) and cuter girls (hopefully 😉 has all been going better than usual, I am able to make peoples days. The idea I am trying to express by writing this is that when you give up something that makes you comfortable in order to get something better, the intermediate period where you have nothing is what makes you worthy of being the person who gets better.

2 thoughts on “Stay Hungry

  1. Completely agree with your comment about mistaking comfort for happiness. Media telling/showing us all these things to buy that will make us happy, and we’ve been deluded! Happiness comes from within 🙂

Leave a Reply

